Hillsborough commission plays musical chairs

11/08/07 Mitch E. Perry
WMNF Drive-Time News Thursday | Listen to this entire show:

Hillsborough County Commissioners named new officers today.

Ken Hagen replaces Jim Norman as the chairman. Hagen filled in for Norman ably a year and a half ago when Norman stepped down briefly for health reasons.

Mark Sharpe was named vice chair and Brian Blair was named chaplain.

There was little controversy over any of the other committee assignments, although Rose Ferlita was disappointed that she could not maintain her seat on the Tampa Port Authority.

Ferlita, who represents District 1, which includes South Tampa, was scheduled to leave the Port Authority. However, she told her colleagues due to the importance of the issue in that part of her district, and the fact that she is currently vice chair of the Authority, they should allow her to continue to serve there.

Sharpe suggested it would be beneficial if Ferlita maintained her seat on the Port Authority; but Commissioner Al Higgenbotham said he wasn’t sure what sort of message would be sent by keeping Ferlita on the Port Authority.

The vote was 5-2 to elect Blair to serve on the Port Authority board, with Ferlita and Sharpe dissenting.

In another move, Brian Blair, who was chair of the Hillsborough Environmental Protection Commission and was severely criticized for his handling of the board this year, lost control of that committee to Al Higgenbotham.

comments powered by Disqus